Introduced By: Representative Paul Sherlock
Date Introduced : February 9, 1999
It is enacted by the General Assembly as follows:
SECTION 1. Section 23-16.2-4 of the General Laws in Chapter 23-16.2 entitled "Laboratories" is hereby amended to read as follows:
23-16.2-4. License required -- Term of license -- Application
-- Fee. -- (a) It shall be unlawful for any persons, corporation,
or other form of business entity to perform clinical or analytical
laboratory services on specimens collected in this state, or to
own or maintain a laboratory or station in this state without
having a license issued by the department of health pursuant to
this chapter. A license, unless sooner suspended or revoked under
the provisions of this chapter, shall expire on the thirtieth
(30th) day of {DEL June DEL} {ADD December ADD} of every other
year following the date of license. This will be determined on
an odd-even basis with respect to the license number. Each license
shall be issued only to conduct the tests approved and for the
premises and persons named in the application, and shall not be
transferable or assignable. The fee for a clinical laboratory
license shall be five hundred dollars ($500) for each specialty
for which the laboratory is approved. The fee for a station license
shall be five hundred dollars ($500). The fee for an analytical
laboratory shall be five hundred dollars ($500) for each category
for which the laboratory is approved. The fees shall be made payable
to the general treasurer, state of Rhode Island, and submitted
with the application to the department of health.
(b) Provided, further, it shall be unlawful for any persons, corporations, or other form of entity to own, operate, maintain, conduct, or sponsor a temporary or ad hoc screening program without having obtained a permit from the director of health. The fee for any permit shall be fifty dollars ($50). It is within the director's discretion to waive the fee. All fees shall be made payable to the general treasurer, state of Rhode Island. Nothing contained herein shall require any licensed persons, corporations, or other entity to pay the permit fee, if the screening program is provided free of charge to the public by the licensed persons, corporation, or entity.
SECTION 2. This act shall take effect upon passage.