LC002336

18

19

High School; and

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2025

SENATE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE WINNERS OF THE 13TH ANNUAL PROSTART® HIGH SCHOOL COMPETITION

Introduced By: Senators LaMountain, Paolino, E Morgan, Mack, Tikoian, Bell,

Sosnowski, Lawson, and Raptakis

Date Introduced: March 27, 2025

Referred To: Recommended for Immediate Consideration

WHEREAS, ProStart® is "a two-year hospitality career-building program designed by 1 2 the National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation" with an enrollment of nearly 600 3 Rhode Island students in the hospitality career-building program designed by the National 4 Restaurant Association Educational Foundation, and an additional 100 students enrolled in the 5 Hospitality & Tourism Management program, designed by the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute's (AHLEI) which is also a two-year, turnkey high school curriculum; and 6 7 WHEREAS, The Rhode Island Hospitality Education Foundation (RIHEF) hosted the 2025 13th Annual Rhode Island High School Culinary Arts, Foodservice & Hotel Management 8 9 Competition in February, with six local teams competing for a total of \$700,000 in scholarship money and the chance to represent Rhode Island in the National ProStart Invitational in 10 11 Baltimore, Maryland; and 12 WHEREAS, The annual event features three competitive areas, Culinary Arts, Foodservice Management, and Hospitality Tourism Management with more than fifty local 13 14 industry professionals serving as judges; and 15 WHEREAS, The top competitors were from CHARIHOTech, Charles E. Shea Senior 16 High School, the Exeter Job Corps Academy, the Newport Area Career and Technical Center, the 17 Warwick Area Career and Technical Center, and William M. Davies, Jr. Career and Technical

WHEREAS, Rhode Island's First Place Culinary Team, hailing from William M. Davies,

1	Jr. Career and Technical High School were Bobbi Calder, Abigail Grullon, and Aliyah Dantzler;
2	and
3	WHEREAS, First place winners in the Foodservice Management Team were Kenadee
4	Houle and Adrianny Jimenez from William M. Davies, Jr. Career and Technical High School;
5	and
6	WHEREAS, First Place in the Hospitality and Tourism Management Team competition
7	were Gavin Apice, Molley Kennedy, Morgan Allen, Olivia Swanson, and Juliet Costa, from
8	Chariho Area Career & Technical Center; and
9	WHEREAS, The winning Culinary and Foodservice Management Teams will now
10	advance to the 2025 National ProStart® Invitational on May 2 nd - May 4 th , where they will
11	represent not only their respective schools, but the State of Rhode Island; now, therefore be it
12	RESOLVED, That this Senate of the State of Rhode Island hereby extends enthusiastic
13	congratulations to members from William M. Davies, Jr. Career and Technical High School and
14	Chariho Area Career & Technical Center on winning the ProStart® High School Competition and
15	wishes William M. Davies, Jr. Career and Technical High School best of luck at the National
16	Competition in Baltimore, MD; and be it further
17	RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to
18	transmit duly certified copies of this resolution to William M. Davies, Jr. Career and Technical
19	High School and CHARIHOTech.

LC002336
