## 2019 -- H 6176

LC002747

19

# STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

### IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

#### **JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2019**

### HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE NORTH SMITHFIELD HIGH SCHOOL WE THE PEOPLE TEAM ON WINNING THE 2019 "WE THE PEOPLE" STATE COMPETITION

Introduced By: Representatives Newberry, Lyle, Solomon, Fellela, and Cortvriend

Date Introduced: June 04, 2019

Referred To: House read and passed

WHEREAS, "We the People" The Citizen and the Constitution Competition is sponsored 1 by the Center for Civic Education, and is a yearly competition for American high school students 2 3 held in Washington, D.C. Teams are divided into six units and each team focuses on a particular 4 area of Constitutional interest; and WHEREAS, For the 13th straight year, a team of North Smithfield High School students 5 presented before a panel of judges at the 2019 "We the People" State Competition held on 6 7 February 9th, and as a result, traveled to Leesburg, Virginia, in April where they represented Rhode Island and participated in simulated congressional hearings in the 32nd Annual National 8 Finals; and 9 10 WHEREAS, The competition requires that students deliver a prepared four-minute 11 opening statement on a specific Constitutional topic and answer a series of questions asked by a 12 panel of judges to measure their depth of knowledge, understanding, and their ability to apply 13 constitutional principles; and 14 WHEREAS, The students prepared for a wide variety of potential follow-up questions as 15 they are not allowed to use any materials nor are they aware of the questions they will be asked until they are posed. Resultantly, they develop the essential skills of thinking critically, quickly, 16 17 and independently; and 18 WHEREAS, This year's dedicated North Smithfield High School team was comprised of

freshmen Jacob Austin, Gabrielle Barros, Theo Bazin, Will Bazin, Cassidy Boutelle, Kat

									_	
1	Danadaa	Mathanial	Condin Ducahnial	Cadia	Chorian	Dthon	Doiomagult	Nicol	Daggaga	Chair
1	Drandao.	Namamei	Cardin-Prochniak,	Saure	Crozier.	синан	Daigneauit.	rvoan	Dagesse.	CHITIS

- 2 Durand, Jacob Gosselin, Emma Harrop, James Haczynski, Madisyn Harnois-Lafreniere, Brianna
- 3 Jacques, Liz Kelley, Cali Keovogsavang, Jordan Koury, Emelie Mandeville, Nick Marseglia,
- 4 Megan Masi, Shawn Moison, Kylie Murphy, Kara Pessia, Seth Pickering, Rachel Reall, Madison
- 5 Reilly, Stevan Reyes, Cameron Reynolds, Tori Robertson, Abygail Sevegny, Holden Tousignant,
- 6 and Zachary Vince; now, therefore be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That this House of Representatives of the State of Rhode Island and
- 8 Providence Plantations hereby extends our congratulations to team coach and teacher, Natalie O'
- 9 Brien and the North Smithfield High School Team for winning the Rhode Island "We the People"
- 10 Competition. We moreover wish this hard-working class the best of luck in all their future
- 11 endeavors; and be it further
- RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to
- transmit a duly certified copy of this resolution to Natalie O'Brien, North Smithfield High School.

\_\_\_\_

LC002747

\_\_\_\_\_