2024 -- H 8301

LC006168

18

19

critically, quickly, and independently; and

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2024

HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE NORTH SMITHFIELD HIGH SCHOOL TEAM ON WINNING THE 2024 "WE THE PEOPLE" STATE COMPETITION

Introduced By: Representatives Newberry, J. Brien, Kennedy, Tanzi, Ajello, Shallcross

Smith, Cortvriend, and Casey

Date Introduced: May 22, 2024

Referred To: House read and passed

WHEREAS, The Citizen and the Constitution Competition "We the People" is sponsored 1 2 by the Center for Civic Education, and is a yearly competition for American high school students 3 held in Washington, D.C. Teams are divided into six units and each team focuses on a particular 4 area of Constitutional interest; and WHEREAS, The team of North Smithfield High School students presented before a 5 panel of judges at the 2024 "We the People" State Competition held on February 8th, and as a 6 7 result of the team's outstanding win, traveled to the National Conference Center in Leesburg, Va., from April 12th through the 16th, where they represented Rhode Island and participated in 8 9 simulated congressional hearings in the Annual National Finals; and 10 WHEREAS, The competition required the students to deliver a prepared four-minute 11 opening statement on a specific Constitutional topic and answer a series of questions asked by a 12 panel of judges to measure their depth of knowledge, understanding, and their ability to apply constitutional principles. The team readily demonstrated their erudition on topics ranging from 13 affirmative action to the death penalty, as well as ballot measures to civil disobedience, in 14 15 addition to myriad additional topics; and 16 WHEREAS, The students had prepared for a wide variety of potential follow-up 17 questions as they are not allowed to use any materials nor are they aware of the questions they

will be asked until they are posed. Resultantly, they develop the essential skills of thinking

1	WHEREAS, The 2024 dedicated North Smithfield High School team was comprised of
2	Anna Aleksiewicz, Paige Bosco, Grace Cabral, John Caruso, Kayla Delances, Grace DeStefanis-
3	Ouellette, NdeyeAnna Diene, Julia Dowling, Dylan Driscoll, Owen Dubuc, Timothy Ferri,
4	Lorelai Garrahan, Aline Girard, Lora Halliwell, Adam Harrison, Max Hawes, Landon Hebert,
5	Darcy Lemieux, Sophia Lopez, Sophia Majeau, Sean Mania, Skyler Manning, Ediana Mauricio,
6	Jackson Nault, Ryan Nault, Mercedes Nkrumah, Andrea Nuñez, Wyatt Pullen, Caroline Rapp,
7	Isabella Rawson, Anabel Redford, Aura Rivera, Daniel Roden, Zachary Simpkins, Addison
8	Slaughter, Ellanora Tessier, Molly Wright, and Conner Listenfelt; now, therefore be it
9	RESOLVED, That this House of Representatives of the State of Rhode Island hereby
10	extends our congratulations to team coach and Social Studies Department Chair, Natalie O'Brien
11	and the North Smithfield High School Team for winning the Rhode Island "We the People" State
12	Competition. We moreover wish these hard-working students the best of luck in all their future
13	endeavors; and be it further
14	RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to
15	transmit a duly certified copy of this resolution to Natalie O'Brien, North Smithfield High School.

LC006168